Egg-in-a-basket? Toad-in-a-hole? Popeye Eggs?

22 Jan

I was having an argument with my friends the other day regarding what the proper name for this dish was.  I called it “eggs-in-a-basket,” someone else called it “egg-in-the-hole” and another person called it “eggs-in-a-hat.”  There doesn’t seem to be any other dish that is as challenging to talk about as this one; whenever you bring it up people are going to be wondering what the hell you’ve been smoking, to be calling it such a strange name.  For simplicity’s sake, I’ve decided to start calling it “toastily eggcellent.”  That just about covers all the bases.
 
Toastily Eggcellent
  • 1 slice of bread
  • 1 egg
  • butter
Do I even need to write directions?  It’s pretty straightforward.  Aw hell, why not?
 
Using a glass or something similarly cylindrical, cut out a circle in the slice of bread.  (You can totally use the leftover bread circle to sop up the egg yolk if you’re into that shit.)  Put a little bit of butter in a skillet over medium heat until it gets bubbly.  Throw the bread onto the skillet, let it sit for about 30 seconds and crack the egg into the hole.  Let it chill for a bit, at least until the bottom of the egg is cooked firm.  Flip it over and cook it to your liking.

12 Responses to “Egg-in-a-basket? Toad-in-a-hole? Popeye Eggs?”

  1. Chris March 30, 2008 at 6:01 pm #

    My mom made this for me all the time growing up … she called it a popeye egg.
    I started making them recently, asked her why popeye, but she had no idea. Whatever its called, its the best!!

  2. Par June 3, 2008 at 1:26 am #

    For some reason I decided to have eggs in a basket (I think I like that and ‘toad in the hole’ equally) for breakfast today. I don’t even like eggs, really, but it seemed like a good idea and then it was and I thought of you! Then I came to the internet to tell you.

    My bread split a bit near the bottom middle and it looks like yours did, too. I’m a-thinkin’ tomorrow I will try to perfect the hole so that the egg cooks just right but the bread doesn’t tear.

    (Please do not make fun of the double entendres in this comment I couldn’t help it.)

  3. joe July 9, 2008 at 1:43 am #

    its called an egg popeye dumb ass..

  4. Vy July 9, 2008 at 7:20 am #

    what lol

  5. Tim July 9, 2008 at 1:32 pm #

    Yeah dumb ass

  6. Rusty October 15, 2008 at 4:14 pm #

    To me it’s a Popeye egg, but then, would an egg of any other name taste more sweet?

    These are delicious… glad I finally am learning to cook them.

  7. James September 7, 2009 at 10:41 am #

    definitely a popeye egg

  8. Eric October 15, 2009 at 3:53 pm #

    It’s always been eggs-in-a-nest at our house. Blame professorville.

  9. steven March 21, 2010 at 10:27 am #

    I call them Popeye eggs, but ive also heard one eye’d sailors… which to me is Popeye, squinting, Argh!

  10. kate November 18, 2010 at 8:36 pm #

    In upstate NY we call these “one eyed devils”. Very folkloric right?

  11. The Bus Driver February 3, 2012 at 10:26 am #

    Growing up, we always called them popeye eggs. My mom would toast up the cut out circle of bread in the pan too, and put it on top of the egg…. I used to eat these all the time. Funny how alot of people call it popeye eggs.

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. April 13, 2009 « the haiku diaries - April 13, 2009

    [...] 9:09 am Filed under: haiku, rachel’s post | Tags: breakfast, food, haiku, Popeye Egg Kid asked for Popeye Egg this morning — I made it – where’s the name come from? 0 Comments No Comments [...]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 262 other followers

